A New Chapter Begins


Well, I did it.  I thought it would be with both feet, but because my finances aren’t analogous to being self-employed, I took a baby step and left my Corporate America job.  However, I landed a long-term contracting gig in the public sector that started today.

Day One was pretty average for the start of a new contract:  getting introduced to co-workers, reading project information on a shared folder and getting the “skinny” on the analysis resources shown the door before I arrived.   I spent the day synthesizing info and turning it into what I thought would be a splendid Visio diagram.  Funny thing is, in the public sector, Visio is not a standard MS Office option.

I have to arrive promptly by 8:00 a.m. each morning (those of you who know me well are rolling on the floor, riddled with laughter) and the environment is rustic compared to my corporate digs.  I get 30 minutes for lunch and have to notify the department admin when I leave the building.  It takes me 10 minutes to walk one way to the cafeteria (where it only costs $2.50 for a turkey on rye sandwich), where I am most likely to run into free-roaming “residents,” and it takes another 10 minutes for the employed “residents” moonlighting as cafeteria staff to prepare the afternoon victuals.  But, my standard work day was and will be 8 hours versus 10 – 15 hours. 

While I won’t get paid for days off, I will get compensated for the hours that I work.  And, there is plenty of overtime available, if I am game.  Baby steps indeed, but I have set one foot on the “yellow brick road.”

Anyway, my last two weeks have been HECTIC to say the least (packing up almost 3 years of my edited desk clutter and transitioning a project for my previous client) and I certainly did not do any of my anticipated recipe testing.  However, I did whip up an interesting new salad (mache (pronounced “mosh”) dressed in a lemon garlic vinaigrette with fresh blackberries, avocado and herbed VT chèvre).

My goal is to get some recipe testing done this week, so stay tuned for those updates and pictures.  Have a great week 🙂

XOXOX

–K

~ by Kris on June 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “A New Chapter Begins”

  1. I am so excited for you Kristen. This whole changing directions thing is something I’ve started to toy with myself. I’m sure it will be some time before I’m “able” to with the litlte ones, but I’m so thrilled for you! It’s fantastic, truly.

    • OMG, that’s right! You have 2 little ones now (you have to send updated pics via e-mail)!

      Seriously, when you come up for air, I hope that you will take the necessary steps to follow your heart path. It’s a lot harder once you get settled into a “career” and used to the lifestyle that career yields.

      Any chance that you are coming back East soon?

      XOXOXO

  2. Congratulations!! I am glad that you made a step in the right direction. Really, really happy for you. I need the recipt for th Lemon Vinagarette salad dressing. That salad looks amazing. Call me!!
    Nora

  3. So….would love to hear how the new job is going!!

Leave a Reply

 
